Skip to main content

MY DARK VANESSA is Kate Elizabeth Russell's Impossible-to-Put-Down Debut Novel

The book explores the psychological dynamics of the relationship between a precocious yet naïve teen and her magnetic and manipulative teacher.

THE NIGHT WATCHMAN Explores Themes of Love and Death with Lightness and Gravity

Louise Erdrich creates a fictional world populated with characters who are forced to grapple with the worst and best impulses of human nature.

Chris Bohjalian's New Novel, THE RED LOTUS, is a Twisting Story of Love and Deceit

An American man vanishes on a rural road in Vietnam, and his girlfriend follows a path that leads her home to the very hospital where they met.

An Astonishing Revelation Lies at the Heart of Esther Safran Foer's Deeply Moving Memoir

When she is told that her father had a previous wife and daughter, both killed in the Holocaust, Esther resolves to find out who they were.

Featured Guide


LET THE WILLOWS WEEP by Sherry Parnell

In the tradition of the best Southern fiction --- from BASTARD OUT OF CAROLINA to WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING --- Sherry Parnell’s LET THE WILLOWS WEEP is a heart-wrenching portrait of hardscrabble, humble lives in rural America. A keenly observed and unflinching look at the life of Birddog Harlin as she grows up in her dysfunctional family, this novel explores the line between destruction and redemption.

» Click here for the featured guide.

Latest Guides

Becoming Mrs. Lewis by Patti Callahan Henry, writing as Patti Callahan - Historical Fiction

At once a fascinating historical novel and a glimpse into a writer’s life, BECOMING MRS. LEWIS is above all a love story --- a love of literature and ideas, and a love between a husband and wife that, in the end, was not impossible at all.

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD asks big questions about life in America today as it explores the effects of class, race and heartrending love in a story that’s as provocative as it is powerful.

When Esther Safran Foer’s mother casually mentions an astonishing revelation --- that Esther's father had a previous wife and daughter, both killed in the Holocaust --- Esther resolves to find out who they were, and how her father survived.

Perfect for fans of ME BEFORE YOU and ONE DAY, Rebecca Serle's unforgettable novel is a striking, powerful and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

The Island of Sea Women by Lisa See - Historical Fiction

Lisa See, the bestselling author of THE TEA GIRL OF HUMMINGBIRD LANE, has written a beautiful, thoughtful novel about female friendship and devastating family secrets on a small Korean island.

In the vein of THE NEST and THE VACATIONERS, THE JETSETTERS is a delicious and intelligent novel about the courage it takes to reveal our true selves, the pleasures and perils of family, and how we navigate the seas of adulthood.

In the tradition of the best Southern fiction --- from BASTARD OUT OF CAROLINA to WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING --- Sherry Parnell’s LET THE WILLOWS WEEP is a heart-wrenching portrait of hardscrabble, humble lives in rural America.

Exploring the psychological dynamics of the relationship between a precocious yet naïve teenage girl and her magnetic and manipulative teacher, MY DARK VANESSA is a brilliant, all-consuming read that marks the explosive debut of an extraordinary new writer.

The Night Watchman by Louise Erdrich - Historical Fiction

Based on the extraordinary life of Louise Erdrich’s grandfather --- who worked as a night watchman and carried the fight against Native dispossession from rural North Dakota all the way to Washington, D.C. --- this powerful novel explores themes of love and death with lightness and gravity, and unfolds with the elegant prose, sly humor and depth of feeling of a master craftsman.

An American man vanishes on a rural road in Vietnam, and his girlfriend, an emergency room doctor trained to ask questions, follows a path that leads her home to the very hospital where they met.

The Baxter sisters have only ever had each other --- until one fateful summer when Sunshine and Margot turn disastrous luck into destiny.

Following the breakout success of her critically acclaimed and award-winning novel, EUPHORIA, Lily King returns with an unforgettable portrait of an artist as a young woman.