Skip to main content

About the Book

About the Book

Endless Chain: Book Two in the Shenandoah Album Series

It's not easy to hope for the future when you're still running from the past.

Sam Kinkade is finally feeling at home as a minister in rural Toms Brook, Virginia, reasonably content with his life and Shenandoah Valley congregation. But his plans to welcome the area's growing Hispanic community to the church are suddenly met with resistance. Fortunately, when La Casa Amarilla, the church-run community center, is threatened, a stranger named Elisa Martinez walks through his door and Sam realizes he has found a woman capable of building bridges.

Elisa is an enigma. Although she slowly becomes involved in the community center, Sam is certain from her guarded manner that she is hiding something. Yet despite their growing friendship Elisa won't discuss her past. Sam is intrigued with that Latina stranger, a woman who, despite the differences in their backgrounds, makes him only too aware of the intimacy missing in his life.

Elisa isn't looking to make friends, let alone put down roots. She has come to hide. But despite her fears of discovery she is enchanted by the beautiful work of and the friendship offered by the church women who invite her to join their quilting circle. And even though she fears the consequences for both of them, she finds herself powerfully drawn to Sam.

As she waits and prays for a reunion that may set her free, Elisa is captivated by a generations-old love story. Will she and Sam repeat the past, or can they find the love and the freedom they seek at last?

With the warmth and comfort of a hand-made quilt, Endless Chain -- an exploration of the intricate patterns of family and community, and the threads that bind them together -- will envelop and welcome readers into the richness of life in the Shenandoah Valley.

Endless Chain: Book Two in the Shenandoah Album Series
by Emilie Richards

  • Publication Date: July 1, 2005
  • Genres: Christian, Fiction
  • Hardcover: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Mira
  • ISBN-10: 0778321983
  • ISBN-13: 9780778321989