Skip to main content

About the Book

About the Book

My Struggle: Book Four

The fourth installment in the eagerly awaited, internationally celebrated MY STRUGGLE series
Book 4 finds an 18-year-old Karl Ove in a tiny fishing village in Northern Norway, where he has been hired as a schoolteacher and is living on his own for the first time. When the ferocious winter takes hold, Karl Ove --- in the company of the Håfjord locals, a warm and earthy group who have spent their lives working, drinking, joking together in close quarters --- confronts private demons, reels from humiliations and is elated by small victories. We are immersed, along with Karl Ove, in this world --- sometimes claustrophobic, sometimes serenely beautiful --- where memories and physical obsessions burn throughout the endless Arctic winter. In Book 4, Karl Ove must weigh the realities of his new life as a writer against everything he had believed it would be.

My Struggle: Book Four
by Karl Ove Knausgaard

  • Publication Date: April 28, 2015
  • Genres: Literary, Nonfiction
  • Hardcover: 350 pages
  • Publisher: Archipelago
  • ISBN-10: 0914671170
  • ISBN-13: 9780914671176