Skip to main content

Attica Locke


Attica Locke

Attica Locke’s latest novel, HEAVEN, MY HOME, is the sequel to the Edgar Award-winning BLUEBIRD, BLUEBIRD. Her third novel, PLEASANTVILLE, was the winner of the Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction and was also longlisted for the Bailey’s Prize for Women’s Fiction. THE CUTTING SEASON was the winner of the Ernest Gaines Award for Literary Excellence. Her first novel, BLACK WATER RISING, was nominated for an Edgar Award, an NAACP Image Award, as well as a Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and was shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction.

A former fellow at the Sundance Institute’s Feature Filmmaker’s Lab, Locke works as a screenwriter as well. Most recently, she was a writer and producer on Netflix’s "When They See Us" and the Hulu adaptation of "Little Fires Everywhere." A native of Houston, Texas, Attica lives in Los Angeles, California, with her husband and daughter.

Attica Locke

Books by Attica Locke

by Attica Locke - Fiction, Suspense, Thriller

In this sophisticated thriller, lawyer Jay Porter, hero of Attica Locke’s bestseller BLACK WATER RISING, returns to fight one last case, only to become embroiled once again in a dangerous game of shadowy politics and a witness to how far those in power are willing to go to win.

by Attica Locke - Fiction, Thriller

Jay Porter has long since made peace with not living the American Dream. He runs his fledgling law practice out of a dingy Houston strip mall --- where his most promising client is a low-rent call girl --- and he's determined to leave the sins of his past buried: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him. That is, until the night he saves a woman from drowning and inadvertently opens a Pandora's box. Her secrets reach into the upper echelons of Houston's corporate power brokers and ensnare Jay in a murder investigation that could cost him his practice, his family…even his life.