Skip to main content

Elena Ferrante


Elena Ferrante

Elena Ferrante is the author of THE DAYS OF ABANDONMENT (Europa, 2005), which was made into a film directed by Roberto Faenza; TROUBLING LOVE (Europa, 2006), adapted by Mario Martone; and THE LOST DAUGHTER (Europa, 2008), soon to be a major motion picture directed by Maggie Gyllenhaal and starring Oscar Award-winner Olivia Colman. She is also the author of INCIDENTAL INVENTIONS (Europa, 2019), illustrated by Andrea Ucini; FRANTUMAGLIA: A Writer’s Journey (Europa, 2016) and THE BEACH AT NIGHT (Europa, 2016), illustrated by Mara Cerri. The four volumes known as the Neapolitan quartet (MY BRILLIANT FRIEND, THE STORY OF A NEW NAME, THOSE WHO LEAVE AND THOSE WHO STAY, and THE STORY OF THE LOST CHILD) were published by Europa Editions in English between 2012 and 2015. "My Brilliant Friend," the HBO series directed by Saverio Costanzo, premiered in 2018. Her most recent novel is THE LYING LIFE OF ADULTS (Europa, 2020).

Elena Ferrante

Books by Elena Ferrante

written by Elena Ferrante, translated by Ann Goldstein - Fiction, Women's Fiction

THE LYING LIFE OF ADULTS is a powerful new novel set in a divided Naples by Elena Ferrante, the New York Times bestselling author of MY BRILLIANT FRIEND and THE LOST DAUGHTER.

by Elena Ferrante - Fiction

From one of Italy’s most acclaimed authors, comes this ravishing and generous-hearted novel about Elena and Lila, two girls who learn to rely on each other ahead of anyone or anything else, as their friendship, beautifully and meticulously rendered, becomes a not always perfect shelter from hardship.