Skip to main content

Elizabeth Graver


Elizabeth Graver

Elizabeth Graver is the author of THE END OF THE POINT, a novel set in a summer community on Buzzard’s Bay from 1942 to 1999. She has also written three other novels: AWAKE, THE HONEY THIEF and UNRAVELLING.

Her short story collection, HAVE YOU SEEN ME?, won the 1991 Drue Heinz Literature Prize. Her work has been anthologized in Best American Short Stories (1991, 2001); Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards (1994, 1996, 2001), The Pushcart Prize Anthology (2001), and Best American Essays (1998). Graver's story “The Mourning Door” was award the Cohen Prize from Ploughshares magazine. The mother of two daughters, Elizabeth Graver teaches English and Creative Writing at Boston College.

Elizabeth Graver

Books by Elizabeth Graver

by Elizabeth Graver - Fiction

Once a painter, a traveler, a lover of light, Anna Simon has been living in the dark ever since she gave birth to Max, a child with a rare genetic disease for whom even an hour in sunlight could prove fatal. For years, Anna has home schooled Max and structured her life around his, despite the fact that her husband, Ian, favors mainstreaming. When Anna learns of a camp in upstate New York for children with the disease, she sees room for a compromise-a sanctuary for Max, a place where he can interact with other children and be both safe and free.