Skip to main content

Jane Rogers


Jane Rogers

Jane Rogers has published seven novels, written original television and radio drama, and adapted work (her own and others') for radio and TV. Her novels include Mr Wroe's Virgins, Island, and The Voyage Home. She also writes short stories and was shortlisted in the BBC National Short Story Competition 2009. Writing awards include the Somerset Maugham Award, Writers' Guild Best Fiction Book, BAFTA nomination best drama serial, Guardian Fiction Prize runner up and Arts Council Award. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Work as an editor includes anthologies of new writing, and a reference guide to fiction. She has taught writing to a wide range of students, and is Professor of Writing on the MA course at Sheffield Hallam University, and a mentor for Gold Dust.

Jane lives near Manchester and is currently working on a collection of stories.

Jane Rogers

Books by Jane Rogers

by Jane Rogers

When God told Prophet John Wroe to comfort himself with seven virgins, his congregation gave him its daughters. So begins this provocative and immensely powerful novel, set in nineteenth-century England and based on actual events.