Skip to main content

Sue Monk Kidd


Sue Monk Kidd

Sue Monk Kidd’s debut novel, THE SECRET LIFE OF BEES, spent more than 100 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list, has sold more than six million copies in the United States, was turned into both an award-winning major motion picture and a musical, and has been translated into 36 languages. Her second novel, THE MERMAID CHAIR, was a #1 New York Times bestseller and was adapted into a television movie. Her third novel, THE INVENTION OF WINGS, an Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 pick, was also a #1 New York Times bestseller. She is the author of several acclaimed memoirs, including THE DANCE OF THE DISSIDENT DAUGHTER, her groundbreaking work on religion and feminism, as well as the New York Times bestseller TRAVELING WITH POMEGRANATES, written with her daughter, Ann Kidd Taylor. She lives in North Carolina.

Books by Sue Monk Kidd

by Sue Monk Kidd - Fiction, Women's Fiction

Grounded in meticulous research and written with a reverential approach to Jesus's life that focuses on his humanity, THE BOOK OF LONGINGS is an inspiring, unforgettable account of one woman's bold struggle to realize the passion and potential inside her, while living in a time, place and culture devised to silence her.

by Sue Monk Kidd - Fiction, Historical Fiction

Hetty “Handful” Grimke, an urban slave, yearns for life beyond the suffocating walls that enclose her within the wealthy Grimke household. On her 11th birthday, Sarah Grimke is given ownership of Handful. We follow their remarkable journeys over the next 35 years, as both strive for a life of their own, dramatically shaping each other’s destinies, and forming a complex relationship marked by guilt, defiance, estrangement and the uneasy ways of love.