Skip to main content



Virginia Woolf


The Voyage Out (1915)

Night and Day (1919)

Jacob's Room (1922)

Mrs Dalloway (1925)

To the Lighthouse (1927)

Orlando (1928)

The Waves (1931)

The Years (1937)

Between the Acts (1941)

Short story collections

Kew Gardens (1919)

Monday or Tuesday (1921)

A Haunted House and Other Short Stories (1944)

Mrs Dalloway's Party (1973)

The Complete Shorter Fiction (1985)

Carlyle's House and Other Sketches (2003)


Orlando: A Biography (1928))

Flush: A Biography (1933)

Roger Fry: A Biography (1940)


Non-fiction books

Modern Fiction (1919)

The Common Reader (1925)

A Room of One's Own (1929)

On Being Ill (1930)

The London Scene (1931)

The Common Reader: Second Series (1932)

Three Guineas (1938)

The Death of the Moth and Other Essays (1942)

The Moment and Other Essays (1947)

The Captain's Death Bed And Other Essays (1950)

Granite and Rainbow (1958)

Books and Portraits (1978)

Women And Writing (1979)

Collected Essays (four volumes)


"Freshwater: A Comedy" (performed in 1923, revised in 1935, and published in 1976)


Stavrogin's Confession & the Plan of 'The Life of a Great Sinner' (from the notes of Fyodor Dostoevsky, translated in partnership with S. S. Koteliansky) (1922)


Autobiographical writings and diaries

A Writer's Diary (1953)—Extracts from the complete diary

Moments of Being (1976)

A Moment's Liberty: the shorter diary (1990)

The Diary of Virginia Woolf (five volumes)

Passionate Apprentice: The Early Journals, 1897–1909 (1990)

Travels With Virginia Woolf (1993)

The Platform of Time: Memoirs of Family and Friends (2008)


Congenial Spirits: The Selected Letters (1993)

The Letters of Virginia Woolf 1888–1941 (six volumes, 1975–1980)

Paper Darts: The Illustrated Letters of Virginia Woolf (1991)

Prefaces, contributions

Selections Autobiographical and Imaginative from the Works of George Gissing ed. Alfred C. Gissing, with an introduction by Virginia Woolf (1929)

Virginia Woolf