Skip to main content

Alice Hoffman


Alice Hoffman

Alice Hoffman is the author of more than 30 works of fiction, including MAGIC LESSONS, THE WORLD THAT WE KNEW, PRACTICAL MAGIC, THE RULES OF MAGIC, the Oprah’s Book Club selection HERE ON EARTH, THE RED GARDEN, THE DOVEKEEPERS, THE MUSEUM OF EXTRAORDINARY THINGS, THE MARRIAGE OF OPPOSITES and FAITHFUL. She lives near Boston.

Photo Credit: Alyssa Peek

Books by Alice Hoffman

by Alice Hoffman - Fiction, Magical Realism

Master storyteller Alice Hoffman brings us the conclusion of the Practical Magic series in a spellbinding and enchanting final Owens novel brimming with lyric beauty and vivid characters.

by Alice Hoffman - Fiction, Historical Fiction, Magical Realism

In an unforgettable novel that traces a centuries-old curse to its source, beloved author Alice Hoffman unveils the story of Maria Owens, accused of witchcraft in Salem, and matriarch of a line of the amazing Owens women and men featured in PRACTICAL MAGIC and THE RULES OF MAGIC.

by Alice Hoffman - Fiction, Historical Fiction, Magical Realism

In 1941, during humanity’s darkest hour, three unforgettable young women must act with courage and love to survive, from the New York Times bestselling author of THE DOVEKEEPERS and THE MARRIAGE OF OPPOSITES, Alice Hoffman.

by Alice Hoffman - Fiction, Historical Fiction, Magical Realism

Thrilling and exquisite, real and fantastical, THE RULES OF MAGIC --- the spellbinding prequel to PRACTICAL MAGIC --- is a story about the power of love, reminding us that the only remedy for being human is to be true to yourself.

by Alice Hoffman - Fiction, Historical Fiction

“A luminous, Marquez-esque tale” (O, The Oprah Magazine) from the New York Times bestselling author of THE MUSEUM OF EXTRAORDINARY THINGS: a forbidden love story set on a tropical island about the extraordinary woman who gave birth to painter Camille Pissarro --- the Father of Impressionism.

by Alice Hoffman - Fiction

From the writer Time has said tells "truths powerful enough to break a reader's heart" comes a glorious travelogue through time and fate, through loss and love and survival. Welcome to Blackbird House.